Steve Smith victory third Allan Border Medal, Beth Mooney bags lady Belinda Clarke Award

Steve Smith victory third Allan Border Medal, Beth Mooney bags lady Belinda Clarke Award

Former captain Steve Smith asserted his third Allan Border Medal while Beth Mooney stowed her lady Belinda Clarke Award, the main two distinctions of the Australian Cricket Awards.

Smith was respected for his exhibitions in each of the three organizations of the game, while Mooney stowed the acknowledgment in the Australian ladies’ down unexpectedly.

The honors were chosen by a democratic interaction for the time frame 2020-21.

Smith was shocked to get the honor, demanding that he felt his helpless trip in the Test arrangement against India had destroyed his odds of winning the honor.

“It’s a great thrill, plenty of hard work has gone into it (but) I didn’t expect it; I thought Marnus (Labuschagne) or Pat Cummins were the front runners because they both had exceptional years,” he said.

“I didn’t feel I had the biggest Test summer, which normally holds the most votes. I think my one-day cricket was pretty good last summer.

“I’m just really honoured to have won my third AB Medal and hopefully I can keep producing results for Australia,” he added.

It was twofold festival for Smith as he likewise won the men’s ODI Player of the Year with 28 votes in front of Finch (23) and leg-spinner Adam Zampa (19).

Smith amassed 568 runs at 63.11 with hundreds of years in Bengaluru and twice at the SCG inside three days, just as a thump of 98 in Rajkot.

Ashton Agar sacked the men’s T20 Player of the Year, beating individual leg-spinner Zampa and Finch.

Ostentatious open David Warner won the Allan Border Medal a year ago, while all-rounder Ellyse Perry had guaranteed the Belinda Clark Award.

Smith scored 1,098 runs at a normal of 45.75 across every one of the three configurations during the time frame 2020-21, which was seriously influenced by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Smith hit four fifties and four centuries, with a top score of 131 of every an ODI against India. With 126 votes in his kitty, the right-hander He pushed out Pat Cummins (117 votes) and restricted overs captain Aaron Finch (97).

Mooney, who surveyed 60 votes, defeated Meg Lanning (58) by only two votes to take the honor, with Georgia Wareham (50) completing third.

Because of calculated difficulties presented by the pandemic, the current year’s honors were not introduced at the typical function occasion, yet were reported on Friday during a broadcast show in front of the KFC BBL10 Final.

The pair got their awards at home — Mooney on the Gold Coast and Smith in Sydney.

Mooney is the 10th Australian lady cricketer to win the honor since its presentation in 2002.

The 27-year-old left-hander batswoman likewise won the ladies’ T20 Player of the Year grant.

Cummins won the Test player of the year grant with 16 votes in front of Josh Hazlewood’s and Marnus Labuschagne.

List of 2021 Australian Cricket Awards

  • Belinda Clark Award: Beth Mooney. Votes: Beth Mooney 60, Meg Lanning 58, Georgia Wareham 50.
  • Allan Border Medal: Steve Smith. Votes: Steve Smith 126, Pat Cummins 114, Aaron Finch 97.
  • Men’s Test Player of the Year: Pat Cummins. Votes: Pat Cummins 16, Josh Hazlewood 9, Marnus Labuschagne 8.
  • Women’s One Day International Player of the Year: Rachel Haynes. Votes: Rachel Haynes 11, Meg Lanning 10, Georgia Wareham 6.
  • Male One Day International Player of the Year: Steve Smith. Votes: Steve Smith 28, Aaron Finch 23, Adam Zampa 19.
  • Female International Twenty20 Player of the Year: Beth Mooney. Votes: Beth Mooney 30, Alyssa Healy 18, Ash Gardner, Megan Schutt and Georgia Wareham 16.
  • Male International Twenty20 Player of the Year: Ashton Agar. Votes: Ashton Agar 19, Aaron Finch 14, David Warner 13.
  • Female Domestic Player of the Year: Elyse Villani.
  • Male Domestic Player of the Year: Shaun Marsh.
  • Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year: Hannah Darlington.
  • Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year: Will Sutherland.
  • Community Impact Award: Joshua Lalor.
  • Hall of Fame inductions: Johnny Mullagh, Merv Hughes, Lisa Sthalekar.

Disclaimer: The views, suggestions, and opinions expressed here are the sole responsibility of the experts. No Glean News journalist was involved in the writing and production of this article.